Sunday, August 26, 2012

The PRINT Show 2012

The PRINT Show 2012

The John B. Aird Gallery presents "The PRINT Show: 2012", a juried exhibition of contemporary prints. The exhibition showcases a wide range of printmaking techniques and practices by 22 printmakers, including artists from Ontario, Quebec and British Columbia. Participants include: Sally Ayre, Ginny Brett, Carlina Chen, Victoria Cowan, Robert Creighton, Martha de la Fuente, Nelrene Dunleavy, Susan Farquhar, Sarah Hawley, Rose Hirano, Ryan Laidman, Evlyne Laurin, Jenn Law, Susan Low-Beer, Shogo Okada, Liz Parkinson, Karen Powers, Marzi Rahmani, David Scott, Lucie Simons, Laura Widmer, and Laurie Zinkand-Selles.

Artists from across Canada submitted entries for review by the exhibition jurors, Penelope Stewart and Dale Barrett. Penelope Stewart received her BFA from York University, Toronto and her MFA from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo. In 2009 she was elected to the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts (RCA). Her work has been included in touring solo and group exhibitions Nationally and Internationally with key exhibitions in Canada, Australia, France and the U.S.A. Dale Barrett is Director of the John B. Aird Gallery.

The jurors were also tasked with awarding the following prizes:
1st Prize: Susan Low-Beer
2nd Prize: Jenn Law
3rd Prize: Rose Hirano
Curry's Art Supplies Award: Nelrene Dunleavy
The Japanese Paper Place Award for Innovation: Sally Ayre

The exhibition will be on view from August 28 to September 21, 2012. An opening reception will take place on Thursday, September 6 from 6 to 8 pm.

The John B. Aird Gallery is located on the ground floor of the Macdonald Block, an Ontario government building at 900 Bay Street in
Toronto. Gallery hours are Monday to Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment